/ Id-Extras Forum / FormMagic not retaining styles

• Author
  • #6158 Reply
    Raven250
    Participant

Hi, I’ve been using FormMagic since 2017, currently using version 1.8.0 Pro. It has always worked perfectly and solved the problems that Adobe won’t fix.

I am currently trying to run the script on a newly created form but the formatting (i.e. color, spacing, font) is not transferring to the form in Acrobat. When I run the script in Acrobat, the result is unstyled text.

I even tried downloading/installing the newer, free 2.0.0 FormMagic to see if that would work any better with CC 2021 but that didn’t work either.

I pulled up a previous InDesign doc (created in 2019) which had worked, exported the Interactive PDF again (within CC 2021), ran the script in Acrobat and everything appeared as it is supposed to.

Is there a step that I’m missing in InDesign somehow? I’m attaching a screenshot which shows the styled INDD file on the left and unstyled PDF on the right.

Thanks for any help.

#6268 Reply
      ~~Ariel~~
      Participant

Hi,
        Hard to say what the issue is. Could you send me the InDesign file? I’ll take a look.
        Do you have form fields on master pages? In earlier versions that was not supported so perhaps that’s the issue.
        Ariel

#6269 Reply
        Raven250
        Participant

Sure, thanks. Sending to the email on your site Help page.

And no, no form fields on master pages…

#6270 Reply
          ~~Ariel~~
          Participant

Hi,
            I took a look at the file, thanks for sending it over.
            So, first of all, the font is being preserved correctly as far as I can tell: In the InDesign file you’re using Arial font, and FormMagic is carrying that over to the form in Acrobat.