/ Id-Extras Forum / Tables and Cells and Scripts, Oh My!

• Author
  • #6842 Reply
    Keltexan
    Participant

I am a long-time Adobe LiveCycle Designer (LCD) user, having to switch to InDesign in a new position to create forms. In the forms, I often use tables and was able to embed text fields, combo boxes, and other objects into the cells so that they move and flex with the table in LCD. I have found it is not as easy in InDesign. One workaround I found was converting the table cell from text to graphic, then using Buttons and Forms to make it a fillable text field. The only issue with that is not being able to center or control the alignment in the text field. I am currently demoing FormMaker Pro, which my company will purchase for me. It appears that I would not be able to use it to align the text under the Options tab as I would in Acrobat. Is there a script I could use on the field to control the alignment of the text, even if it is only to center it? Otherwise, I would have to overlay text frames converted to interactive fields over the table cells using snap to grid. That would make it harder to edit if I have to move or resize the table in the future. I appreciate any assistance.

#6844 Reply
      ~~Ariel~~
      Participant

Hi,

I think what you’re describing is more or less possible with forms in InDesign.

You can anchor a text field in InDesign to a table cell. That’s easy to do, and the text field would then move around with the cell.

To get the text field to exactly fill the dimensions of the cell and change in size if the cell is resized is not a built-in feature of InDesign.

However, it should be possible to automate – meaning that if the size of cells changes, you would run a script on that table and all text fields would resize themselves to the new cell dimensions.